At-College TBR for Fall 2017

Hi all, so I’ve been a bit absent because I finished up my summer job, shopped and packed, and moved back to college! I’m so glad I’m back. And this semester I’m especially excited, because I have a lot of free time in my schedule compared to last semester, so I should have more time to focus on reading, blogging, writing, and hopefully YouTube.

So, I’m going to compile a (probably) ambitious list of books I plan on reading this semester, especially because I only have 1 regular English class! I’m mostly focusing on books I already own, because I’m on a self-imposed book buying ban. Let me know what you think of them, or if you have any more recommendations!

Books for Class

  • For my literary history class (not sure if I’m reading these in their entirety, either…): Beowulf, Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, “Wife of Bath’s Tale” (part of Caterbury Tales I believe), Doctor Faustus, Spencer’s Faerie Queen Book 1, Paradise Lost
  • For my “What is Good Education?” class (don’t know if I’m going to read all of these yet…): “They Say/I Say”: The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing (because this is also a writing course) and Seeking Common Ground: Public Schools in a Diverse Society
  • I’m also taking a class about teaching YA in a diverse society (yay!!) but there isn’t a book list, so I’m hoping we get to choose and I’ll probably choose some of the books further down this list.

Soooo naturally I’m looking to have some fun reading in between all of that!

Books Coming Out this Fall

There are a couple of books I am definitely going to preorder. It’s by no means an extensive list of all I’m excited for, however–but if I read anything else sooner/before paperback, it’ll probably be from the library. At least, that’s the plan I hope to stick to.

  • They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera (Sept 5)–Wow, this is coming so soon!!
  • 27 Hours by Tristina Wright (Oct. 3)–I was actually contacted by the publisher to review a finished copy of this
  • Wild Beauty by Anna-Marie McLemore (Oct 3)
  • Turtles All the Way Down by John Green (Oct 10)–I’m not the biggest fan of Writing!Green, but this  tackles OCD based on his own experience, and I’m 100% here for anything in that very small category of books
  • La Belle Sauvage by Phillip Pullman (Oct 19)–I’ve waited so long for this!!

Others

  • Books I’m currently in the middle of: Brown Girl Dreaming, The Mother Tongue: English and How it Got That Way, TV: The Book, and a collection of essays by George Orwell
  • All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr: I told one of my good friends and fellow English nerd to pick a physical book I should bring with me and read this semester, and she picked this one.
  • Ghost by Jason Reynolds
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by MacKenzie Lee–reading as a part of an online book club (though I’m interested in it!)
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Glass Castle by by Jeannette Walls–I don’t know if I’ll see the movie, but I’ve got the book and want to read it soon.
  • Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk
  • Enter Title Here by Rahul Kanakia

…And I should probably stop myself there. Have you read any of these? What are you planning to read soon?

 

14 thoughts on “At-College TBR for Fall 2017

Leave a Reply

