ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Theater of the Ancients by Andy Mientus

Genre: Middle grade fantasy Publisher: Amulet Books Publication Date: March 19, 2019 After saving the day and stopping the ghost from taking over their theater, things are quiet for the Backstagers of the St. Genesius School Drama Club. Too quiet. But when that quiet is filled by a mysterious voice that haunts the Backstagers day … More ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Theater of the Ancients by Andy Mientus

ARC Review: You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman

Genre: YA contemporary Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Publication date: March 3, 2019 Senior Ariel Stone is the perfect college applicant: first chair violin, dedicated community volunteer, and expected valedictorian. He works hard – really hard – to make his life look effortless. A failed Calculus quiz is not part of that plan. Not when he’s number … More ARC Review: You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman

ARC Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

Genre: YA sci-fi-ish contemporary Publisher: Simon Pulse Release date: February 19, 2019 Synopsis: A good friend will bury your body, a best friend will dig you back up. Dino doesn’t mind spending time with the dead. His parents own a funeral home, and death is literally the family business. He’s just not used to them … More ARC Review: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson

ARC Review: Our Year of Maybe

Publisher: Simon Pulse Genre: YA contemporary Publication date: January 15, 2019 Synopsis: Aspiring choreographer Sophie Orenstein would do anything for Peter Rosenthal-Porter, who’s been on the kidney transplant list as long as she’s known him. Peter, a gifted pianist, is everything to Sophie: best friend, musical collaborator, secret crush. When she learns she’s a match, … More ARC Review: Our Year of Maybe

Review: Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina

Hello!! I got super sidetracked by school and theatre and all the stress and anxiety that comes with that, but now I’m back with more time to read and write and blog. This book I actually read a while ago and it came out in September, so…yeah. I’m working on the balancing/time management thing, guys. … More Review: Merci Suarez Changes Gears by Meg Medina

ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Ghost Light by Andy Mientus

Genre: Middle grade fantasy Publisher: Abrams Release Date: September 25, 2018 Synopsis: The stage crew at St. Genesius Prep—or Backstagers, as they like to call themselves—are ready for whatever the theater world can throw their way: the madness of tech week, inevitable prop malfunctions, and all the paranormal activity that goes on behind the scenes. … More ARC Review: The Backstagers and the Ghost Light by Andy Mientus

ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman

Genre: YA contemporary Release Date: September 11, 2018 Publisher: Simon Pulse Summary: A mixed race teen struggles to find her way back to her love of music in the wake of her sister’s tragic death in this incisive, lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jennifer Niven, by the author of William … More ARC Review: Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman